CSA – Week 1

So, I’m not really good at blogging which is pretty obvious from my lack of any sort of consistent posting. But I’ve been inspired with the start of the CSA season! The hubs and I get a full share from One Straw Farm weekly on Tuesdays and I’m really curious to see how much of it we use versus waste, and what recipes we end up liking from it. I plan on tracking all the recipes that we make and the different preparations. Like last year, I plan on using as much of what we get as possible — which includes the parts that most people probably waste (for example, I made some delicious stock/broth with the corn cobs last year and can’t wait to do that again!).

Here we go – this is week one. (Well, technically Week 3, but we were on vacation for the first two pick-ups!)

Received:

  • Green Leaf Lettuce (1 head)
  • Romaine Lettuce (1 head)
  • Beets (bunch of 3)
  • Lacinto Kale (several bunches)
  • Swiss Chard (a lot..)
  • Curly Kale (1 head)
  • 4 big Cucumbers
  • Broccoli (1 small head)

Storage Method:

  • Washed and spun dry the greens (except lacinto kale – wrapped that in paper towels after dipping it in a bowl of water)
  • Put the three types of greens between paper towels and sealed with 2 strips of the “Press and Seal” paper – labeled with date and type for easy finding
  • Cut the stems of the swiss chard into smaller pieces and put into a zip lock bag until I decided what to do with them.

Made (so far):

  • 1 salad (work lunch); 1 salad (mix of curly kale and romaine)
  • Used all the lacinto kale in aCreamy Sausage and Kale Soup”:  https://www.pinterest.com/pin/144255994291624712/ 
    • I wouldn’t make again – I didn’t use some of the herbs to flavor (fennel seeds and bay leaf) but still, it was just a little too watery for me and didn’t really like the coconut flavor with the sausage – but perhaps was the sausage I picked. Good way to use up all the Kale in one dish though. Also added some leftover toasted baguette slices which gave it a little heartiness.
  • Used all the beets making a roasted beets and potato hash: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/144255994291638513/ 
    • Chose this recipe since I had a few leftover potatoes and always love any dish that has eggs as the protein. Note: I did roast the potatoes and beets in the oven rather than the stovetop at about 425 degrees. And added in a little basil. YUM! Would definitely make this again. I think last year I wasted every single beet I received – definitely an improvement!
  • Chard stems: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/144255994291638516/
    •  Pickled them for salads! So gorgeous – hate to waste these pretty stems. Takes about three days to properly pickle – so should be ready about Tuesday.

Wasted food:

  • Beet Greens. Had wilted before I decided to save them and try to use them for something.

Pretty pickled chards & beet and potato hash for one:

pickled chard stems hash with beets

I plan on posting weekly – so next week should include an update on the rest of the stuff we haven’t used yet! Looking forward to a few entrees this week featuring the zucchini and the swiss chard.

Leave a Reply

