CSA – Week 2

This week proved to be a little challenging with the holiday weekend and long work days that left me not feeling very creative for dinner. I did find a great recipe for curly kale, though! I didn’t get too creative last year with looking for kale recipes so I’m happy to have found a delicious use for it it.

Received Week 2:

  • Green Leaf Lettuce (1 head)
  • Curly Kale
  • Radishes – 2 heads
  • Swiss Chard – large bunch
  • Spring Onions
  • 6 zucchinis (slightly smaller than first week)
  • Arugula – large bunch
  • Cabbage
  • Collards
  • Celtuce

Week 2 Prep & Storage:

  • Green Leaf Lettuce, Swiss Chard, Arugula, Collards – washed and wrapped in paper towels & press and seal paper.
  • Spring Onions – stored in an oversized glass mug on the counter with just the roots under water
  • Rest – stored in fridge crisper drawer

This week also had me questioning the decision to have a full share for only two people, because as you can see…it is SO MUCH GREEN! Regardless, I’m up for the challenge (and the healthier eating opportunity). I split up the use of the produce below into two segments: stuff from previous weeks versus this week.

Recipes — previous week’s CSA haul:

I used the rest of the green leaf lettuce, a little of the swiss chard, and romaine lettuce for lunch salads and a shared salad to bring to friend’s house to meet their new baby!

The swiss chard stems that I pickled tasted good – but I don’t think I would do it again or would try a different recipe. Wasn’t as much flavor as I thought and they browned pretty quickly – which seems odd?

All of the Zucchini was used up in a Zucchini Shrimp Scampi (https://www.pinterest.com/pin/144255994291658142/)

  • I definitely modified this from the recipe! I did my best to use a grater to shred into “noodles” and then drained on paper towels. If I made this again, I would definitely drain it a LOT more, and likely in small batches because it was a little messy. I also only shredded until I hit the seeds on all four sides and chopped the inside pieces to sauté later.  I diced a quarter of an onion and sautéed with a pinch of red pepper flakes, then added 3 small cloves of minced garlic with the inner zucchini pieces. I cooked the shrimp next with some salt and pepper, and lastly added the shredded zucchini with a little lemon juice. Turned out pretty tasty – and the red pepper definitely gave it some depth. I would use half a lemon instead of a full lemon next time, too.
Wasted: Nothing!
Still leftover: curly kale, head of broccoli and swiss chard

 

Week 2 Produce:

I used some of the curly kale in a smoothie for dinner (with half an apple, half a frozen banana, 1/2 c. OJ, and about three pieces of kale) in our Ninja blender. Need to read up on the best way to use my Ninja – didn’t like how grainy the texture of the kale was, but the overall flavor was good and very filling.

Since I didn’t properly store my curly kale this week, I used the rest of it for a 3rd of July salad to bring to a friend’s party. I know I can’t go wrong with an Oh She Glows recipe, and I was right!

(https://www.pinterest.com/pin/144255994291667129/)

  • I followed the recipe for the dressing using avocado oil, and used a part of an apple, two CSA radishes, half a red pepper,  red onions, avocado, walnuts, celery, and added some additional green leaf lettuce before serving. See recipe for more details on how to prep!
  • It was really delicious – I’m excited to make this again next week to bring for work lunches. I ate what was left the next day, and it was just as good. I love that kale doesn’t get soggy – and if anything, tastes better after sitting for so long.
Wasted: The celtuce, and gave the cabbage to a friend
Still leftover: Radishes (1 head), Swiss Chard, Spring Onions, 6 zucchinis, arugula, collards

 

Week 2 Produce; Zucchini Shrimp Scampi; Massaged Kale Salad with Veggies

CSA Week 2 zucchini shrimp scampi kale veggie salad

 

Leave a Reply

