CSA – Weeks 3 & 4

I knew going into CSA season it might be a little tricky come vacation time. I was correct. No post last week since I didn’t really have enough to post about! And I may or may not be posting this five days after writing it due to my novice editing skills (and frustrations).

Week 3 haul:
IMG_5679

Week 3 

  • Broccoli
  • Chard
  • Onion
  • Romaine
  • Cauliflower
  • Yellow Squash
  • Basil
  • Red Leaf Lettuce
  • Radishes

The main takeaway for storage of the produce this season is NOT to use the press and seal. I thought that would be a cheaper alternative to the zip lock bags but the paper towels stayed moist and a lot of the greens turned yellow and unusable. Fail. Definitely back to using the large zip lock bags again for any more greens that we get.

One of my biggest struggles last year was what to do with the abundance of zucchini – and of course, now it’s multiplied by two! And not only has it multiplied, but this must be a better harvest year since  the individual zucchinis are much larger than they were last year. I did make a delicious zucchini bread, which I forgot to photograph but used two zucchinis for it! So moist and full of flavor – this served as a snack/breakfast for most of the week, and I’ll definitely be making it again from Just a Taste’s blog post “Zucchini Banana Bread“. DELISH.

IMG_5694

week 4

Week 4 haul:
  • Cabbage
  • Bag of Potatoes
  • Head of Cauliflower
  • Pickling Cucumbers
  • 4 Zucchini
  • 3 green bell peppers
  • Collards

Made a kale salad with lots of veggies – my new favorite salad!

IMG_5676

Massaged Kale salad

And I made these two recipes again that I had made last year. I adjusted the one by increasing the “Summer Vegetable Tian” recipe from Budget Bytes to fill the pan that I had and to use of more veggies. I did use a sweet potato in this, not part of the CSA, and also took so long to cook – would stick to regular potatoes in the future. I also used 1 onion, 1 zucchini, 1 yellow squash, bunch of radishes, 1 regular potato, and garlic in the recipe! Highly recommend. (And easy recipe to use up a lot of produce!)  The second was “Garlicky Swiss Chard and Chickpeas” from Foodiecrush.com, not pictured, and not an amazing recipe but a tasty way to use up a lot of greens.

Summer Veggie Tian!

Summer Veggie Tian!

Last week was a slower week with more time (and energy) to cook, so I tried a few new recipes! First, I made myself a sandwich inspired by Foodiecrush.com and grilled half of a zucchini, half a yellow squash, some red onion and a portobello mushroom. I made a spread with ricotta cheese and basil — this was seriously delicious. I’m pretty much going to be using my grill pan the rest of the summer for every dish. It’s cast iron and SUPER easy to use, and much less hassle than the actual grill. As you can see from the picture below, I didn’t really cut the vegetables thin enough for the sandwich so I’ll have to just try again this week 🙂

IMG_5695

veggie sandwich with sourdough

And a very similar recipe from BevCooks blog, just in pizza form, I used the exact same veggies plus tomato sauce and cheese on naan bread. Also, very delicious and on the menu for was made again this week!

IMG_5702

naan pizza – baked!

And oddly enough, on the Food Network’s snapchat, I screenshot (screenshotted?) a recipe that combined quinoa, cooked greens (I used my collards from week 3) and a poached egg. It was my first time poaching an egg and was pretty easy! The only thing I would have done differently in this recipe was season it more. Chicken broth to cook the quinoa instead of water would have been a lot tastier, and adding more salt to the collards when they were cooking. Filling dish otherwise!

poached egg with collards and quinoa

poached egg with collards and quinoa

So to round it up, here’s what I wasted and what’s left going into week 5:

Wasted:

  • Basil – didn’t store properly and already have so much of it from the grocery store!
  • Spoiled greens, as noted above.

Still left:

  • Few radishes – plan to use in salads
  • Radish greens
  • Chard
  • Arugula
  • Romaine & green leaf – likely using up tomorrow for work salads
  • Chard
  • Collards – just a few big leaves – thinking of making wraps one night for dinner!
  • Everything from weeks 3 & 4 unless otherwise noted. Lots of cooking to do!
Leave a Reply

